The Department of Language and Literature Education was among the first Departments in Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology; its founding going back to 24th October, 2003.

The name of the Department captures the close relationship between language and literature.

The Department comprises five substantive sub-sections: English, Kiswahili, Literature, Communication Skills and French. The first sub-sections were established in the Kakamega Campus. Later an additional sub-section, French was established in 2008.

The Department handles thousands of students every year in diverse programmes. It has qualified and internationally renowned full-time members of staff and from time to time uses the services of visiting scholars and other part-time lecturers in language, linguistics and literature in English, Kiswahili and French.

The Department also offers some English, Kiswahili and French courses to students in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication. French is also taught to students at the Centre for Disaster Management and Humanitarian Assistance at both undergraduate and graduate levels.


To be a centre that trains and produces highly skilled, versatile and practically-oriented reflective Language and Literature Educators.


To train, conduct research, disseminate knowledge, provide community service and facilitate cultural activities in language, literature and communication.


The Department of Language and Literature Education aims to:-

i. Offer quality teaching in language, literature and Communication to ensure over 98% graduation per cohort.

ii. Undertake interdisciplinary research, transmit and disseminate findings in communication studies, language, linguistics, literature and pedagogy. 

iii. Train and produce highly skilled and practically-oriented educators who are able to communicate effectively and improve the quality of life of human kind.

iv. Establish academic linkages and collaboration with at least two leading universities and academic departments through joint projects, publications, and curriculum review annually

Chair of Department

Ms. Susan Choge 
(View Profile)

Copyright © 2017. School of Arts and Social Sciences | MMUST.