The Department of Criminology and Social Work (CSW) is one of the departments under the Faculty of Education and Social Sciences (FESS) within the University. The University was established through an Act of Parliament on 30th December, 2006 as the seventh public University in Kenya. It was first established as Western University College of Science and Technology (WUCST) by the Legal Notice No. 373, which appeared in Kenya gazette supplement No. 119 of 5th December, 2002, thus succeeding the defunct Western College of Arts and Applied Sciences (WECO). According to the legal notice, WUCST was established as a constituent college of Moi University. The legal notice mandated WUCST to provide directly or in collaboration with other institutions of higher learning, facilities for University education including technological, scientific and professional education.


To be a Department of Excellence in Training, Research and Innovation in the provision of Criminology and Social Work education in Africa


To attain World Class standards in Training, Research and Innovation for Sustainable Individual Prosperity and Social Development


(i) Build in students the importance of ethical practice;

(ii) Provide its graduates with intellectual, practical and professional skills, ethics and knowledge rooted in progressive values that promote the ideals of professional intervention;

(iii) Develop a critical awareness of the role of learners’ professions in the development, maintenance, and resolution of social and personal challenges;

(iv) Prepare students for service and leadership in government, the private sector nongovernmental organizations and emerging institutions; 

(v) Build competencies for consultations, outreach and research.

Chair of Department

Mrs. Patricia Kariaga  (View Profile)

Criminology & Social Work

Copyright © 2017. School of Arts and Social Sciences | MMUST.